Skip to content
Townsend Networks
CiscoPublished

Cisco Catalyst 2960, 3650, 3750-X and Meraki MS Compared

Hardware engineering & procurement desk

Cisco Catalyst 2960, 3650, 3750-X and Meraki MS Compared

Cisco sold its Catalyst access switches under a few model numbers that each cover several generations, and the letters in the part number tell the generation, the ports and the software. This guide covers the Catalyst 2960 family, the 3560, 3650 and 3750-X, the 4948 and its power supplies, the Catalyst 9200L and 9300L models Cisco names to follow them, and the Meraki MS switches. Every figure comes from Cisco and Meraki data sheets and end of sale notices, listed under Sources.

The short answer

For 10/100 or gigabit ports at the edge, look at the 2960 family; for PoE+ with stacking, the 3650 or the 3750-X; for a 1RU gigabit switch with 4 SFP+ ports, the 4948E. Cisco has ended sale of the 2960, 2960-Plus, 2960L, 2960-X, 3750-X, 4948E-F and WS-C3650-24PS-S, and names Catalyst 9200L and 9300L models to follow the 2960-X and the 3650. The Meraki models here are the MS355-48X2 and the MS120-8FP.

The models side by side

ModelPortsSwitchingEnd of sale
WS-C2960-48PST-S48 x 10/100 RJ-45 PoE, 2 x 1000BASE-T, 2 x SFPNot statedOctober 31, 2014 (2960)
WS-C2960G-48TC-L48 x 10/100/1000 RJ-45, 4 dual-purpose uplinksNot statedNot stated
WS-C2960S-48TS-L48 x 10/100/1000 RJ-45, 4 x SFP77.4 MppsNot stated
Catalyst 2960-XNot stated216 Gbps, 71.4 to 130.9 MppsOctober 31, 2022
WS-C2960L-24TQ-LL24 x 10/100/1000 RJ-45, 4 x 10G SFP+Not statedOctober 31, 2021 (2960L)
WS-C3650-24PS24 x 10/100/1000 PoE+, 4 x 1G92 GbpsOctober 31, 2021 (WS-C3650-24PS-S)
Catalyst 3750-XNot stated160 Gbps fabric, up to 101.2 MppsOctober 30, 2016
WS-C4948E-F48 x 10/100/1000, 4 x SFP+Not statedOctober 31, 2017

Catalyst 2960: several generations under one name

The original 2960 models such as the WS-C2960-48PST-S have 48 10/100 ports with 2 1000BASE-T and 2 SFP uplinks. The 2960G models such as the WS-C2960G-48TC-L have 48 10/100/1000 ports with 4 dual-purpose uplinks, each 10/100/1000 or SFP. The WS-C2960S-48TS-L has 48 10/100/1000 ports and 4 SFP uplinks at 77.4 Mpps, with optional FlexStack. The 2960-X models give 216 Gbps and from 71.4 Mpps on the 24 port models to 130.9 Mpps on the WS-C2960X-48FPD-L, with optional FlexStack-Plus. The WS-C2960L-24TQ-LL has 24 10/100/1000 ports and 4 10G SFP+ uplinks. On the 2960-Plus, the WS-C2960+48PST-L has 370 W of PoE available, enough for up to 24 ports at 15.4 W (802.3af).

The letter at the end of an original 2960 part number names the software image: -L models carry LAN Base and -S models LAN Lite, as in the WS-C2960-48TT-L and the WS-C2960-48PST-S.

Catalyst 3560, 3650 and 3750-X

The page for these holds the 3550, 3560, 3650, 3750 and 4948. The 3750-X models give a 160 Gbps switching fabric and up to 101.2 Mpps on the 48 port models in 1RU, with 715 W or 1100 W AC supplies on the PoE models; the WS-C3750X-48PF-S has the 1100 W supply and 800 W of PoE available. The WS-C3650-24PS has 24 10/100/1000 PoE+ ports and 4 1G uplinks, 92 Gbps, a 640 W supply with 390 W of PoE, in 1RU, and stacks optionally with StackWise-160 and the C3650-STACK-KIT at 160 Gbps. The WS-C3560E-24PD-S has 24 10/100/1000 PoE ports and 2 10GE X2 ports on a 750 W AC supply.

Catalyst 4948 and its power supplies

The WS-C4948-10GE gives 136 Gbps. The WS-C4948E-F has 48 10/100/1000 ports and 4 SFP+ ports with front exhaust airflow, and ships with no power supply; the WS-C4948E-F-E includes a 300 W AC supply. The PWR-C49E-300AC-F is the 300 W AC front exhaust supply for the 4948E-F, and the PWR-C49-300DC is a 300 W DC supply for the Catalyst 4948, 1+1 redundant and load sharing.

What Cisco names to follow them

Cisco's end of sale notices name the C9200L-24P-4G for the WS-C2960X-24PS-L and the C9200L-48P-4X for the WS-C2960X-48FPD-L, and the C9300L-24P-4G-A for the WS-C3650-24PS-S. The C9300L-24T-4X-E has dual redundant power bays and ships with one 350 W AC supply by default. For the Catalyst 9300 against the 9400, read Cisco Catalyst 9300 vs 9400.

Meraki MS

The 1U MS355-48X2 gives 688 Gbps of switching capacity and 400 Gbps of stacking bandwidth over 2 hardware stack ports. It runs on dual hot swap 1025 W AC power supplies, draws up to 1793 W, has 3 hot swap fans and 1 dedicated management interface, works from 0 to 45 C, and weighs 16.15 lbs (7.33 kg). The MS120-8FP has a fixed internal power supply and draws 161 W at most and 9 W idle.

What to check before you buy

  • The generation in a 2960 part number: 2960, 2960G, 2960S, 2960X, 2960L or 2960+.
  • The software letter on an original 2960: -L for LAN Base, -S for LAN Lite.
  • The PoE budget: 370 W on the WS-C2960+48PST-L, 390 W on the WS-C3650-24PS, 800 W on the WS-C3750X-48PF-S.
  • Stacking: FlexStack on the 2960-S, FlexStack-Plus on the 2960-X, StackWise-160 on the 3650.
  • Power on a 4948E-F: the WS-C4948E-F ships with none, the WS-C4948E-F-E with a 300 W AC supply.

Lifecycle: what the dates mean

Cisco gives October 31, 2014 as the end of sale date for the 2960, October 31, 2021 for the 2960-Plus and 2960L, October 31, 2022 for the 2960-X, October 30, 2016 for the 3750-X, October 31, 2017 for the 4948E-F and its PWR-C49 supplies, and October 31, 2021 for the WS-C3650-24PS-S. For the 2960-X support dates, read Cisco Catalyst 2960-X after end of sale. A switch keeps forwarding after its end of sale, and a spare of the same part number keeps a closet matched.

Where to look

Each family has its own page listing what is in stock: the Catalyst 2960, the Catalyst 3560, 3650 and 4948, the Catalyst 9300 and 9400, Cisco power supplies and Meraki MS switches. Pages in stock today include the WS-C2960X-48FPD-L, the WS-C3650-24PS-E, the WS-C4948E-F-E, the C9300L-24T-4X-E and the MS355-48X2. For the whole maker, read the Cisco guide. Request a quote for a part that is not listed, or sell the switches you retire.

Sources

Quick answers

What replaced the Catalyst 2960-X?

Cisco's end of sale notice names Catalyst 9200L models, such as the C9200L-24P-4G for the WS-C2960X-24PS-L and the C9200L-48P-4X for the WS-C2960X-48FPD-L.

Can Catalyst 2960 switches be stacked?

Some can. The 2960-S models take optional FlexStack and the 2960-X models take optional FlexStack-Plus stacking.

What do -L and -S mean at the end of a 2960 part number?

The software image: -L models carry LAN Base and -S models LAN Lite, as in the WS-C2960-48TT-L and WS-C2960-48PST-S.

Can the Catalyst 3650 be stacked?

Yes, optionally, with StackWise-160 and the C3650-STACK-KIT, which give 160 Gbps of stacking bandwidth between switches.

What is the stacking bandwidth of the Meraki MS355?

400 Gbps of stacking bandwidth, over 2 hardware stack ports, on a 1U switch with 688 Gbps of switching capacity.

In stock now

WS-C2960X-48FPD-L Cisco Switch, Refurbished, 48x 1GbE PoE+ RJ45 and 2x 10GbE SFP+

WS-C2960X-48FPD-L

WS-C2960X-48FPD-L Cisco Switch, Refurbished, 48x 1GbE PoE+ RJ45 and 2x 10GbE SFP+

In stock

$90Ships same day
WS-C3650-24PS-E Cisco Switch, AC Power, Refurbished, 24x 1GbE PoE+ RJ45 and 4x 1GbE SFP

WS-C3650-24PS-E

WS-C3650-24PS-E Cisco Switch, AC Power, Refurbished, 24x 1GbE PoE+ RJ45 and 4x 1GbE SFP

In stock

$90Ships same day
WS-C4948E-F-E Cisco Switch, Back-to-Front, Refurbished, 48x 1GbE RJ45 and 4x 1/10GbE SFP+

WS-C4948E-F-E

WS-C4948E-F-E Cisco Switch, Back-to-Front, Refurbished, 48x 1GbE RJ45 and 4x 1/10GbE SFP+

In stock

$350Ships same day
C9300L-24T-4X-E Cisco Switch, Refurbished, 24x 1GbE RJ45 and 4x 1/10GbE SFP+

C9300L-24T-4X-E

C9300L-24T-4X-E Cisco Switch, Refurbished, 24x 1GbE RJ45 and 4x 1/10GbE SFP+

In stock

$1,980Ships same day

Brand guide

Cisco Hardware Guide: Catalyst, Nexus, ASR and ASA

Cisco Catalyst 9000, 2960, 4500 and 6500, Nexus, ASR and ASA: what each family is, end-of-support dates and the models we have in stock.

Read the Cisco guide →

Need help planning your next move?

Tested, warrantied hardware with real availability, and cash offers for decommissioned gear. Quotes answered by a human.

Keep reading