Skip to content
Townsend Networks
BrocadePublished

Ruckus R500, R510, R710, R730 and R750 Access Points

Hardware engineering & procurement desk

Ruckus R500, R510, R710, R730 and R750 Access Points

RUCKUS indoor access points differ in Wi-Fi generation, in spatial streams, in their Ethernet ports and in how much power they draw from the switch. This guide sets the R500, R510, R710, R730 and R750 side by side, with the power each draws on each PoE class, and the PoE budgets of the RUCKUS ICX switches that power them. Every figure comes from RUCKUS data sheets, listed under Sources.

The short answer

For 802.11ac on 802.3af PoE, the R500 and R510 draw 10.5 W and 12.6 W at most. For 802.11ac Wave 2 with four streams, the R710. For 802.11ax, the R750 draws 22.34 W on PoE+ with a 2.5 Gbps port, and the R730, with eight streams, draws up to 31.0 W on DC, PoH or uPoE. Match the access point to a switch port that can feed it.

The models side by side

ModelWi-FiStreamsEthernetPower draw (maximum)
R500 (901-R500-US00)802.11ac2x2:22 x 1GbE RJ-4510.5 W on 802.3af
R510 (901-R510-US00)802.11ac Wave 22x2:2Not stated12.6 W on 802.3af
R710 (901-R710-US00)802.11ac Wave 24x4:42 x 1 GbpsNot stated
R730 (901-R730-US00)802.11ax8x8:8Not stated31.0 W on DC, PoH or uPoE; 23.8 W on 802.3at
R750 (901-R750-US00)802.11ax (Wi-Fi 6)4x4:41 x 2.5 Gbps, 1 x 1 Gbps22.34 W on PoE+

R500 and R510: 802.11ac, two streams

The R500 is a concurrent dual band 802.11ac access point with 2x2:2 streams and 2 1GbE RJ-45 ports. It draws at most 10.5 W on 802.3af and 11.1 W on 12 V DC, ships with no power adapter, measures 4 x 15.8 x 15.8 cm (1.57 x 6.2 x 6.2 in) and weighs 350 g. It mounts on a wall, a drop ceiling or a desk, and runs from 0 to 50 C (32 to 122 F) at up to 95% humidity, non-condensing.

The R510 is the 802.11ac Wave 2 version, also 2x2:2. It draws at most 12.6W on 802.3af and 11.9W on 12 VDC input, has a USB 2.0 Type A port, weighs 350g and measures 16.8 x 16.5 x 4.1 cm. It carries Wi-Fi certification for a, b, g, n and ac, with Passpoint, and mounts on a wall, a drop ceiling or a desk.

R710: 802.11ac Wave 2, four streams

The R710 is a dual band (5 GHz and 2.4 GHz concurrent) Wave 2 802.11ac access point with 4x4:4 streams and adaptive antennas. It has 2 1 Gbps Ethernet ports that take PoE on 802.3af, at or bt and support link aggregation, and a USB 2.0 Type A port. It measures 6 x 22 x 22 cm (2.4 x 8.7 x 8.7 in), weighs 1.12 kg (2.5 lb) and runs from -4 to 60 C (25 to 140 F).

R730 and R750: 802.11ax

The R730 is an 802.11ax access point with 8x8:8 streams. It draws at most 31.0 W on DC power, PoH or uPoE and 23.8 W on 802.3at, and 16.1 W idle on DC power, PoH or uPoE. It ships with no power adaptor, and RUCKUS does not recommend 802.3af for it. It measures 22.19 x 24.96 x 6 cm (8.74 x 9.83 x 2.36 in), weighs 1.53 kg (3.37 lb) and mounts on a wall, an acoustic ceiling or a desk, with the secure bracket sold separately.

The R750 is a dual band (5GHz and 2.4GHz concurrent) Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) access point with 4x4:4 streams, adaptive antennas and onboard BLE and Zigbee. It has 1 2.5 Gbps and 1 1 Gbps Ethernet port, both taking PoE on 802.3af, at or bt, and a USB 2.0 Type A port. It draws 22.34 W on PoE+, and 12.54 W on 802.3af PoE with reduced functions. It measures 6.2 x 20.6 x 23.5 cm (2.4 x 8.1 x 9.3 in) and weighs 1.01 kg (2.23 lb).

Powering them from RUCKUS ICX switches

The PoE budget of the switch sets how many access points it can power at their full draw, and the PoE class of each port sets which access point it can power. RUCKUS gives these budgets for its ICX switches:

  • ICX 7150: 370 W on the P models, 740 W on the PF models, and 124 W on the 12 port ICX7150-C12P.
  • ICX 7250: 370 W on the ICX 7250-24P and 740 W on the ICX 7250-48P; the ICX 7250-48 has no PoE.
  • ICX 7450-48P: 48 PoE+ ports, 8 of them PoH at 90 W.
  • ICX 7650-48P: 40 PoE+ ports and 8 PoE+/UPoE/PoH ports, with up to 1500 W of PoE.

RUCKUS rates the R730 at 31.0 W on PoH or uPoE and 23.8 W on 802.3at; the ICX 7450-48P has 8 PoH ports and the ICX 7650-48P 8 PoE+/UPoE/PoH ports. The R750 is rated at 22.34 W on PoE+, which the ICX 7250-24P, ICX 7250-48P, ICX 7450-48P and ICX 7650-48P ports give.

What to check before you buy

  • The Wi-Fi generation: 802.11ac on the R500, Wave 2 on the R510 and R710, 802.11ax on the R730 and R750.
  • The power each port gives: 802.3af, 802.3at (PoE+), or PoH and uPoE for an R730 at full draw.
  • The uplink: the R750's 2.5 Gbps port wants a switch port that runs at 2.5 Gbps to use it.
  • Mounting and power: the R730's secure bracket is sold separately, and the R500 and R730 ship with no power adapter.

Where to look

Ruckus access points lists the access points in stock, among them the R510 (901-R510-US00) and the R730 (901-R730-US00). For PoE switches, see the ICX 7150, ICX 7450 and ICX 7650 pages, with the ICX 7650-48P and the ICX7450-48P-E in stock today, and the ICX switch guide. For the whole maker, read the Brocade and Ruckus guide. Request a quote for a part that is not listed, or sell the access points you retire.

Sources

Quick answers

Can the R730 run on 802.3af PoE?

RUCKUS does not recommend 802.3af for the R730; it draws 23.8 W on 802.3at and up to 31.0 W on DC, PoH or uPoE.

Which RUCKUS access point has a 2.5 Gbps port?

The R750, a Wi-Fi 6 access point with one 2.5 Gbps and one 1 Gbps Ethernet port, both taking PoE.

How much power does the R750 draw?

RUCKUS rates the R750 at 22.34 W on PoE+, or 12.54 W on 802.3af PoE with reduced functions.

What is the difference between the R500 and the R510?

The R500 is 802.11ac and the R510 802.11ac Wave 2; both are 2x2:2, and they draw 10.5 W and 12.6 W at most on 802.3af.

Do RUCKUS access points come with a power adapter?

The R500 and R730 data sheets list no power adapter; both run on PoE or on DC power.

In stock now

901-R510-US00 Ruckus Access Point, Refurbished

901-R510-US00

901-R510-US00 Ruckus Access Point, Refurbished

In stock

$25Ships same day
901-R730-US00 Ruckus Access Point, Refurbished, R730 Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) dual-band access point

901-R730-US00

901-R730-US00 Ruckus Access Point, Refurbished, R730 Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax) dual-band access point

In stock

$100Ships same day
ICX7650-48P Brocade Switch, Used, 48x 1GbE PoE+ RJ45 and 4x 40/100GbE QSFP28

ICX7650-48P

ICX7650-48P Brocade Switch, Used, 48x 1GbE PoE+ RJ45 and 4x 40/100GbE QSFP28

In stock

$8,550Ships same day
ICX7450-48P-E Brocade Switch, Front-to-Back, Refurbished, 48x 1GbE PoE+ RJ45 and 2x 40GbE QSFP+

ICX7450-48P-E

ICX7450-48P-E Brocade Switch, Front-to-Back, Refurbished, 48x 1GbE PoE+ RJ45 and 2x 40GbE QSFP+

In stock

$225Ships same day

Brand guide

Brocade and Ruckus Hardware Guide: ICX, VDX and MLXe

Brocade and Ruckus ICX campus switches, VDX data center switches and MLXe routers: models, end-of-sale dates and what we have in stock.

Read the Brocade and Ruckus guide →

Need help planning your next move?

Tested, warrantied hardware with real availability, and cash offers for decommissioned gear. Quotes answered by a human.

Keep reading